Friday, January 5, 2018

Dispelling myths: Dayan in the Modern World

It's been a while since I've used this blog, but I figured this should go here since it doesn't really fit on KCC.

The gist of it is that to a lot of cubers who aren't as deeply involved in the cubing community, or to a lot of new cubers, Dayan is often one of the most prominent brands. This is for good reason too: Dayan dominated the entire industry back in the early 2010s, and even now the Zhanchi is still one of the most famous speedcubes and ubiquitous among all in the community.

The problem now, though, is that Dayan is often one of the first names to be recommended to a new cuber. I've seen countless Youtube comments, Facebook posts, and the odd Reddit comment or so that pushes the GuHong or the Zhanchi as the top of the line speedcube, usually because the poster has simply never heard of cubes from MoYu, QiYi, GAN, or YuXin. This post was inspired, in fact, by a certain Reddit user who not only recommended the Dayan Guhong/Zhanchi, but insisted that they are still relevant and still good cubes by today's standards.


So, I'm going to try to firmly establish today what place Dayan has in today's market. I'll be comparing the original Zhanchi, widely agreed on as the last "good" Dayan cube, and a YuXin Little Magic M, a popular contemporary budget speedcube.

The Cubes



The Dayan Zhanchi is the veteran of the scene, arguably the most famous speedcube ever released. Released in 2011, it had a number of features new for the time, including Dayan's signature (and then uncommon) rounded geometry, a new ridge and corresponding groove on the edge never seen before, and the torpedoes that would go on to become an industry standard. The specific cube in question today is a relatively new Zhanchi, probably produced in 2015.

It's worth mentioning that in 2013, Dayan switched to a new blend of plastic and supposedly, the old, softer plastic feels much better to some. However, having a number of both old and new plastic Zhanchis, the old plastic does not make enough of a difference to warrant a more positive review, and the new plastic is what new cubers would only have the option for anyways.


The YuXin Little Magic is a very contemporary cube, having only been released in August 2017. It's not a revolutionary cube the same way the Zhanchi was - it's a cube sitting squarely in the ultrabudget end of the market, retailing for only $5. Despite that, however, it has gained a lot of popularity as one of the top choices for anyone looking for a more affordable cube, and as a result it's often recommended alongside the MF3RS2 to beginners.

The YLM is in its stock setup, and the Zhanchi has been lightly set up with an evening of the tensions and Weight 3 lubricant.

Externals



It's quite easy to tell which cube is modern and which one is old. The design of cubes has changed vastly since the age of the Zhanchi - gone are the square stickers and square pieces, and in its place edges and centers have become very rounded, with rounded stickers fitted to the pieces. The hole at the intersection of a corner, a center, and two edges, now known as a Florian hole, has grown much larger for the sake of corner cutting. It's of note that for a time after the Zhanchi, speedcubes rounded the corners as well, and in fact they still are rounded internally. However, by keeping just the outside surface as a square, cube manufacturers found that they could reduce corner twisting and not sacrifice corner cutting, so almost all modern speedcubes are made this way.

The size of most modern speedcubes has decreased to 56mm, as opposed to the 57mm of the Zhanchi. Weight has remained roughly in the same ballpark, with the Zhanchi at 88 grams and the Little Magic at 74, but better molding techniques and thicker walls means the Little Magic feels just a bit more sturdy and durable.

Finally, most modern cubes have moved to full or half-bright stickers, making use of extremely vibrant, fluorescent colors. The Zhanchi's stock stickers are quite dark and dull in comparison, though finding a modern sticker scheme isn't as much of a problem.

Turning

Turning is something largely down to personal preference, and there is a vast variety of different turning cubes out there for people to try. The YLM has medium weight, smooth, flowy turning with a little bit of a tactile click during the transition between two different turns. I know Zhanchis to have a large variety of possible turning feelings depending on how you set them up, but this particular Zhanchi, with a rather ordinary setup, has heavier, more blocky turning. Where turning each layer of the YLM feels like turning a cohesive whole, the Zhanchi feels more like turning 8 separate cubies around the center.

Now, the turning feel of older cubes can be a redeeming factor if no modern cubes quite match them. The Alpha V was an extraordinarily clicky, tactile feeling cube with no equal today; the ShuangRen was far sandier than any cube before or after it, due to its unique use of matte plastic for the inside surfaces. However, the Zhanchi is rather weak in that regard: while some claim to have found no real replacement for a Zhanchi's feeling, I find that many modern cubes can emulate the many ways to set up a Zhanchi. The Mars S feels rather similar to this particular Zhanchi; the Thunderclap feels similar to the light, fast, and clicky Zhanchi that was my main for many years.

Corner Cutting

Here, we can get into some things that are more concrete. Corner cutting is widely known as one of the biggest improvements to have been made to cubes since the time of the Zhanchi, and is luckily measurable by number.

The YLM, being a budget cube, doesn't quite achieve full cutting out of the box: it does 52 degrees forward, and 36 degrees reverse, a 2 degree deadzone. This is rather typical of the ultrabudgets, and is pretty much the only concrete thing separating them from the flagships that can do full cutting out of the box.

The Zhanchi, on the other hand, on my average tensions does just 38 degrees of forward cutting, a bit beyond the "line to line" that was the benchmark back in the day. Any further and a nasty lockup would occur as a result. Now, I do know that it is possible to get better corner cutting out of it by loosening tensions, but that reduces pop resistance as a tradeoff.

The reverse cutting on the Zhanchi actually impressed me: 31 degrees. Remember, most non-Dayan cubes back then could not even reverse cut 5. It doesn't quite hold a torch to the 34-36 degrees of modern cubes, but it isn't that far off either.

However, there's a problem.

The thing that stunned me most about modern cubes when I got back into the scene in early 2016 was just how effortless reverse cutting was. Due to the internal rounded surfaces of the corners as well as the rounded centers, reverse cuts practically glide into place, with a smooth sliding of the corner around the outside of the center.


This is not the case with the Zhanchi. There's no smooth incline to ease the backward slide of the corner off the center, or the edge on the other side, so both pairs of pieces end up hanging up on each other. It takes quite a bit of force to overcome that, and when you finally do, there's a very strong snap of the corner overcoming the center and slamming down on its own layer.

Why does this matter? Well, 1. it feels awful, and 2. not being able to smoothly slide means reverse cuts take much more force. This has actually affected my solves - anytime I perform R'U', I rely on reverse cutting, and I found that my fingers were slipping up quite a lot more simply because I wasn't putting enough force into the reverse cut.

Popping and Corner Twisting



Pop resistance is the other big improvement from the Zhanchi era. Pretty much all cubes since the Zhanchi have adopted torpedoes, but the difference now is that where the Zhanchi reduced its base diameter to as small as possible, making for very small corner and edge bases, modern cubes have taken it in the opposite approach, making both the edge bases and the torpedoes flatter and wider. As a result, you now need a much larger gap between the pieces to allow the edge base to pop out on a YLM, and your screw limit won't allow this gap to form at all. 

This translates pretty well to real world experimentation. It doesn't take much to get a pop on the Zhanchi, just a bit of rough turning and flexing. I can certainly see it happening during normal solves, and in fact in the past when I mained a Zhanchi, pops were a regular occurrence during practice. I gave up on trying to get the YLM to pop even with my roughest possible turning. This isn't an unexpected result: in tens of thousands of solves the only modern cube that has ever popped was a Mars, which was flawed to begin with.

It's pretty important to note here as well that the Guhong is another cube suggested pretty often, and in this regard, it's far worse than even the Zhanchi. The Guhong v1 did not have torpedoes at all, and as a result has practically zero pop resistance. Luckily, most shops only sell the Guhong v2 at this point if they still sell the Guhong at all.

Pricing and Value

The Zhanchi was released in an era where all of the top cubes were sold at $8-$11, and actually bucked this trend a bit by being priced at $15. As of now, officially it still retails for $15, but you can find them here and there for as low as $9. That certainly does seem very cheap for a top-end cube in today's world of $30+ flagships. 

However, there's a balancing act that's been playing with the gradual increase of price of the flagships: the increase in quality of the ultrabudgets. The YLM is by most regards very very close to flagship level, and certainly won't hold back anyone on achieving their fastest times. Ultimately, whether you choose the MF3RS, the YLM, the Warrior W, or any other contemporary ultrabudget, for $5 or less you're getting a much better cube than the 2011 flagship Zhanchi.


Conclusion

The Zhanchi is a legendary cube, and deserves its reputation quite well. It dominated the entire cubing world for two years, and popularized a host of new technologies that would later go on to become industry standards. Its performance was incredible for the time, and in fact, I was impressed with how well it did today.

Ultimately, though, it's a cube out of a different era. Any modern speedcube has no trouble beating it in every measurable way, and in most unmeasurable ways as well. That, combined with the fact that many of these cubes are in a new market segment existing under $5, makes the Zhanchi a cube no longer deserving of a recommendation to any speedcuber.

It's a bit sad to dismiss such a legendary cube in such a way, and especially one that has served me well for nearly 5 years, but ultimately, everything must move on. Let's look to the future for better and better cubes, rather than being stuck in the past on a piece of history.

EDIT: Honestly, I kinda forgot to mention anything about the Zhanchi 2017. The thing is, the Zhanchi 2017 doesn't change the situation much. It incorporated some modern technologies, yes, but ultimately that cube is still a Zhanchi and is quite a disappointing release in today's world. I don't think that it will change the fact that Dayan's most famous cube is still the original Zhanchi, and that it and the Guhong are still the two most commonly recommended Dayan cubes.

Saturday, October 29, 2016

A poem...

Karl Zhao
My man
He and his pet cube frolick
At five in the morning
Tired, but still busy
Wow

By: A friend

I'm having a lot of fun writing for Speedcubeshop, which if you don't have the link yet, is here. It's a great platform to write on and I love the integration with the site. Speedcubeshop has been wonderful in working with me to make sure everything goes smoothly and helping me with ideas for other content, as well as some other projects that might come soon.

Stay tuned to both! Hopefully I'll have some interesting content for both soon!

Monday, October 24, 2016

Proud to announce...



Starting very soon, I'll be writing for Speedcubeshop on a blog right on speedcubeshop.com!

As I've already mentioned before, Speedcubeshop is an amazing site and business. Their prices are good and their selection is wide, which is a very good thing in and of itself, but that's not what makes them special. Their customer service is beyond any other business I've ever known - packages are almost always shipped same day as long as you order before the cutoff, emails are replied to often instantaneously, problems are resolved extraordinarily fast, and throughout the entire process you're usually talking to Cameron Brown, the owner and face of the shop, directly. I've never heard any negative feedback towards Speedcubeshop, not 6 years ago when I was still cubing, and not since 5 months ago as I restarted.

What's more, Speedcubeshop is involved directly in the community, to the extent where Cam often comes and chats with us on our r/cubers Discord server directly. Everything just feels so personal. When you order from Speedcubeshop, you don't feel like you're ordering from a store; you feel like you're ordering from a member of the community who wants just as much as you do for your order to proceed seamlessly and quickly and for you to receive excellent products.

Starting soon I'll be working directly with Speedcubeshop and writing for them. Reviews for new products will now be sponsored by them, which would let me publish much more easily and make sure all of you are up to date on the latest puzzles. Cameron was kind enough to offer me a blog right on the site, which could create some interesting possibilities of integrating reviews right into product pages, which hopefully might simplify the selection process for all of you. :)

Of course, you all may have concerns - wouldn't me writing directly for them bias the reviews? Well, I don't intend to change anything about my analysis of the products I'm reviewing - if I don't like a cube I will still say I don't, just as I will say I like a cube if I do. The same objective metrics will still be there, as will my subjective opinion. Of course, working with Speedcubeshop it would make no sense for me not to suggest purchasing from there - but know that I do this not just because of my affiliation, I do it because I genuinely believe it's the best option.

What's to become of this blog? Not sure yet. I'll probably still write a few reviews here and there, depending on the cube and the content. I might also delve into a few DIY projects, and anything I think of that would be out of place on the Speedcubeshop blog, such as a cube review of a cube they don't carry, will end up on here.

I couldn't be more excited to start this endeavour with Speedcubeshop! I'm sure this will be a great thing to all of us, whether that's me as a writer, Speedcubeshop as a cube shop, or you as a faithful audience.

As a final note, I want to say a sincere, heartfelt thank you to everyone who's read my blog. Over the past few months this blog has grown larger than I ever thought it would, and that is what has allowed me to do everything I've done and gain the opportunity to work with Speedcubeshop. None of this would have been possible without you! :)

I look forward to seeing you again soon, whether it's on this very same blog or on speedcubeshop.com!

Wednesday, October 19, 2016

MoHuanShouSu Chufeng review

And finally, we arrive at the last of the Moyu trio, the MoHuanShouSu Chufeng.


It didn't feel right until I completed the set. Let's see what we've waited all this time for.

Background info

The Chufeng is a new 3x3 from another new Moyu subbrand, MoHuanShouSu. It was teased in a prototype video nearly 5 months ago, and we've barely heard a peep out of Moyu about it, right up until its rather sudden release.

It does seem rather odd that Moyu chose to release all three cubes in its recent cycle (the Mars, the M3, and the Chufeng) nearly simultaneously - isn't there the possibility of one of the three eclipsing the rest? We already have two of the three done, so we'll see soon enough.


Look and Feel


It's...uhh...another Moyu 3x3, I guess. Not too much has changed.

You still get the classic rounded square centers, bread edges, and squared off corners. This time, it seems the corner is much more rounded and less squared off than most recent Moyu releases, but that's about it. It's still a nice, solid feel in the hand.

Sticker wise, the cube still uses the classic Moyu color scheme, but thankfully it's using the far more durable sticker stock of older cubes like the Yuexiao rather than the measly GTS sticker stock. These shouldn't chip or fade for a while yet. As per usual, Moyu has them cut perfectly to fit the Chufeng's pieces and they look very good applied.

The cube, stickered up, weighs a moderate 84.6 grams. It makes a loud, very clacky sound with just a bit of hollowness.


Setup

Again, this is another cube that Cameron from Speedcubeshop sent to me used - to what extent, I don't know. It may have been set up before I received it. I loosened it just a hint and lubed the core with weight 5 and the pieces with weight 3, and have done about 350 solves since.


Turning

This is another heavy, clacky turning cube. The turning as I received it was rather slow, and after lubing it sped up slightly but not too much. The main characteristic, as already mentioned, is that the layers feel very heavy and have a lot of momentum behind each turn, and on every turn there's a noticeable clack as the pieces hit each other. However, it's not bumpy like the Mars is - in fact, the layer turns are quite smooth.

While it's not exactly unstable, it's less stable than a lot of other recent 3x3s such as the Valk or the M3. Yet, it was supposedly designed to be a stable cube - more on that later.

I like light turning, airy cubes. As such, it's not a turning feeling I particularly enjoy, but I don't hate it either. I just tolerate it, and I suspect quite a few others will do the same.


Corner Cutting

Max corner cutting: ~50 degrees
Effective corner cutting: ~43 degrees
Max reverse cutting: ~36 degrees
Effective reverse cutting: ~35 degrees

Corner cutting is not great, and is quite a bit behind the full cutting beasts of today's market. It manages to score a respectable number in effective reverse cutting, but that's its best metric.

Anti-pop and anti-corner twist

Anti-pop is fine, as would be expected of any modern cube. Corner twists are a bit problematic, though. Despite the supposedly squared off corners and the good anti-corner twist shown (or faked) in the prototype video, corners are very easy to twist by hand and do twist occasionally in rougher solves. My standard anti-corner twist stress test results in a twist nearly every time.


Internals


If you look closely at the center cap, you can notice it's actually wider than the rest of the piece. It seems the cap actually fits over and around the rest of the piece, instead of sitting flush as usual. Since the cap is the only point of contact between the center and the pieces, it should serve to lower friction.

Classic Moyu blue core as usual.



The edge piece. Nothing too crazy. It has a curved torpedo, which I don't believe I've actually seen before - most are just flat.

The corner piece, complete with the rather rounded "squared off" corner design. It has a shoulder and a nice unified corner foot, which I've found does indeed help with smoothness of turning.

Do you notice that bulbous protrusion above the shoulder? Or the round groove in the side of the edge?

Well, assembled in a cube they fit together like this.
The idea is that no matter where the corner has turned, it's always pressed into that round groove, which in theory should support the cube and keep it very stable. In practice, however, while it is decently stable, it doesn't seem to work as well as simply a flat corner and edge.

Magnetizing potential and magnet placement

Yep, can be magnetized. Magnet placement could be as so.
The problem, as with the Mars, would be the heavy turning of the cube. Heavier cubes tend to drown out the snappiness of the magnets so the effect might not as be as apparent as lighter cubes.


Conclusions

Objective score: 7/10

Again, it's not a bad cube. (I seem to be saying that for a lot of cubes lately.) It just falls behind in corner cutting and anti corner-twist, and its internal design seems to be overthinking the stability issue.

Subjective score: 7/10

I don't like it as much as I do tolerate it. The heavy turning feel isn't for me, and neither is the stability.

So how does the Chufeng stand in the trio? Well, true to the prices, I'd say the Mojue M3 is easily the best, and the Chufeng and the Mars are roughly equal but quite a ways below the M3. The Mars performs a bit better but many people seem to hate the feel, myself included. The Chufeng performs worse but has a more acceptable feel, even though it's not quite good yet.

I've heard a spring swap with the GTS makes it both perform and feel better. I haven't tried it yet, and it wouldn't make for a valid review, but it's definitely in my plans.

I haven't talked pricing yet. The Chufeng comes in at $2 cheaper than its cousin, the Mars, at a price point of $12 for US sellers. So far, this isn't a price bracket that's been widely explored yet. It should be noted that the Shengshou Fangyuan is actually $3 cheaper and performs slightly better, and to most people would feel better as well. I'd suggest you look into that option as well if you're considering the Chufeng.

Let's wrap it up.

You should buy this cube if:
  • You like heavy, clacky cubes
You should not buy this cube if:
  • You like light, airy, or smooth cubes
  • You need corner cutting or have a rough turning style

Bit of a let down to end the trio, I suppose. Ah well. 

If you do decide to buy the Chufeng, it's priced at $11.95 at Speedcubeshop. If this review helped you decide at all, please consider using my affiliate link to purchase it. It does help out a lot in letting me get more reviews out.

As always, thanks for reading! I hoped this helped, whether it was to convince you to purchase it or steer you away from a potentially bad purchase!

Saturday, October 15, 2016

Litu CR3 review

We've seen a lot of new 3x3s out lately, especially the trio from Moyu. I thought I'd take a step back and look at a more obscure release from a more obscure company.



This is the Litu CR3, a new cube that is both pretty interesting as a cube and interesting as a release. 

Background info

The Litu CR3 is a new 3x3 released by a new player in the cube industry, Litu. Litu wasn't a cube maker before; rather, it seems they were a Taobao shop that made custom stickers and force cubes out of big cubes and other puzzles. They must have recently decided to jump into the 3x3 market and put out a new cube with a new design.

Only, it appears it didn't really go so well. They put a product listing up on Taobao (with an awful product picture) and it seemed for a short while, it was available for sale. Soon after, however, the color options were removed and replaced with a "Suspended Sales" option, and the price was increased to 999 Yuan - $150 USD. Basically, they don't want you to buy and if you do they won't ship. Even a few that were bought before the change were not shipped.

My guess is that as a new manufacturer their inexperience led them to some production issues. They claim that they should be able to ship the remaining orders sometime this month, so hopefully that means they can get back on track with production as well.

Packaging

I thought this deserved its own section because the packaging was, well, different. Instead of the typical cardboard box, plastic box of the GTS, or even the nice box/stand of the Gans cubes, we get this.


Isn't that adorable? The way the string sticks out from the top, the perfect positioning of the ears above the cardboard face - everything is just bunny themed. It's clever too; rather than including a bag awkwardly stuffed in the box (as in the case of the Thunderclap v)1 or just straight up giving up and packing a bag with the cube (as in the case of the Gans Air), Litu decided to turn the bag into the box. Much less awkward.

Just not sure what to do with that adorable paper wrapping.

Inside the box, er, bag, we get the cube itself and a cute little screwdriver.




Look and Feel

The Gans Air, a very light cube, is 73g. The Guanlong, which is even lighter and feels positively papery, is 66g.

This cube is 57g.

Wait, what?

After double checking the scale and my senses multiple times, I can say that, indeed, this is by far the absolute lightest modern standard sized 3x3 in the world. I practically don't feel it when I pick it up and I can actually blow it around without much effort.

Now, I absolutely hated the papery feel of the Guanlong. You'd think I'd hate this cube as well, right?

Surprisingly, no. I don't know how they managed to do it, but it feels far more solid than the Guanlong and almost as solid as some far heavier cubes, like the Thunderclap. The weight itself still makes me a bit nervous, but besides that the plastic feels fine.


Onto other aspects - the cube looks like a typical 3x3 nowadays, with squared off corners, bread edges, and a square but rounded center. It honestly doesn't look to different from a lot of cubes like the Yuexiao or the Valk, except that the stickers seem a tad smaller and don't cover as much of the piece.

The stickers use the Valk color scheme - pretty standard half bright with darker blues and more vibrant oranges. Nice. However, while I haven't gotten any chips since I'm fairly careful with my stickers, I'm guessing the vinyl used is of lower quality since there was a fair amount of adhesive residue on the outside of the stickers.

It's 56mm and makes a loud, swishy, clacky sound. Check out my video if you want to hear it for yourself.

Setup

Evened tensions, wiped lube, and lubed with weight 5 on the core and mixed weight 1 and weight 0.7 on the pieces. Being such a light cube, I felt light lube could bring out the airyness more.

Nothing too crazy. It didn't need too much setup, and didn't change much from setup.

I've done about 300 solves on it so far. A bit of the scratchiness wore away, but not all of it, and besides that it hasn't changed much with break in. It's possible that all of the scratchiness will wear away with time.

Turning

Being such a light cube, it does make sense that turning is very airy and has almost no momentum. Turns are instantaneous to start and stop. However, it isn't quite the fastest cube; while it is very fast, it's still a bit behind cubes like a loose Gans Air, and remains fairly controllable at its speed.

Turning is quite bumpy, especially if the layers aren't perfectly aligned (which happens a lot). There is some scratchiness left, but as I said it might wear away with even more time.

The big problem with this cube's turning is that while it's not too flexy, it's still very unstable and doesn't like maintaining a cube shape. It stays with two corners pressed together and does not spring apart again, which is quite reminiscent of what the Gans 356S and S v2 would do.

That instability causes no small amount of lockups, at least for me.


Corner Cutting

Max corner cutting: ~49 degrees
Effective corner cutting: ~42 degrees
Max reverse cutting: ~37 degrees
Effective reverse cutting: ~33 degrees

This cube does not full cut, sadly, and out of all of the recent cubes I've tested it's been the farthest from it so far - 3 degrees. Of course, in practice this is inconsequential, but it does stop it from earning a perfect score.

I will note that out of the box corner cutting was rather hugely inconsistent due to inconsistent tensions. There seems to be a very tight range of tensions where corner cutting is maxed out on this cube, and if you're outside that range the cube will either not cut or flex into a lockup.


Anti-pop and anti-corner twist

Anti-pop is fine, as is expected on any modern cube. However, this one does have a bit of trouble with corner twists. It's still more difficult to twist a corner on this cube than any cube without squared off corners, but it happened a bit during solves, and even worse, I didn't feel it happen. With practically any other cube, I'd get a bit of feedback that just indicated I had a corner twist, which wasn't present here.

More points off, I'm afraid.

Internals


We have a bit of an odd and cheap looking core here. While the design isn't exactly unusual, the core seems to be molded from the same lightweight plastic the rest of the cube is molded from, though in a matte finish. This contrasts with the typical nylon core of cubes of old or even the new blue or green Moyu/Qiyi cores.

It does make me question the integrity of the core, but it hasn't failed yet.


Very simple looking edge piece with a small edge base and a long, thin torpedo. Nothing unusual here.


Another simple corner design, even simpler than a lot of corners like the Valk or Yuexiao corners. The base is flat and thin, and is not unified as the Valk's or the Yuexiao's are, which is a shame because the unified feet does seem to help a bit.

Through the holes, I saw something a bit unusual. Take a look.



It really does seem like this cube was designed for weight savings in every way possible. While most cubes have huge friction fits that extend across the entire corner, this one just has two tiny pegs plus two more little pegs for alignment at the top and bottom. They can barely even be called friction fits; there isn't much friction.

Now, as a word of caution, it seems this cube really does not like having its corners disassembled. Despite the friction fits not having friction, the three corners were firm and took a lot of effort to pry apart, and there were a lot of snaps and pops along the way. The inside smelled rather strongly of acetone, so my guess is that they used it to melt the friction fits just enough to fuse them together, since they don't stay together on their own. This isn't a process you can easily replicate at home, so you'd have to find some other way to stick them together if you do decide to pry them apart.

Magnetizing potential and magnet placement

Yes, this cube can be magnetized, and because of its light weight I suspect it could change the feel quite a lot. However, keep in mind the difficulties I mentioned with disassembling the corner. It would take a lot of work to magnetize this cube and carry a lot of risk, since you'd likely break at least one corner and even if you didn't, you'd have to attach them back together.

Conclusions

Objective score: 6.5/10
Despite how excited I get about new and especially limited releases, I have to say, this cube wasn't the best. It's unstable which leads to a lot of lockups. Corner cutting really is fine but is still off from full cutting, which is needed for a perfect score, and corner twists happen with little indication that they did.

It's still not bad per se, which would be something like the MF8 Square-1 v3, but it's not good enough to earn a high score. Just an ordinary 6.5.

Subjective score: 4/10
I do not like this cube at all. It does luckily feel more solid than a Guanlong, but the weight still does make me nervous. It's far too unstable and has too much of a scratchy, bumpy feel while turning. 

The disassembly process is something else that draws ire with me, even though it may not be relevant to most. Glued pieces? Really?

My times gain roughly 4 seconds on this cube, and even going through the Ao100s I did with this cube to bring it to 300 solves was a bit torturous. It's going to become just a shelf piece and a novelty cube for "wow look how light this cube is".


You should buy this cube if:
  • You're a cube collector and want rare cubes
  • You want the lightest cube in the world
  • You like very unstable cubes
You should not buy this cube if:
  • You want a cube that has good performance
  • You want a solid feeling cube
  • You want a stable cube
  • You want a cube that feels smooth or clicky and not bumpy
Well, there it is. I guess it's my first formal critical review.

Despite my excitement for it, I did not like the CR3 at all, unfortunately. I'm still going to keep and cherish it since it was one of the first and as of today one of the only ever made, but I doubt I'll use it much or ever main it for some purpose.

No Speedcubeshop product link for you guys today, unfortunately. We'll have to see if the CR3 does end up getting past its production hurdle and making it into America. If you want to see more reviews like this, please consider using my affiliate link for anything else you might need! It helps me out a lot in getting more reviews out.

Thanks for reading! Stay tuned for the final review of the new Moyu trio, the Chufeng!

Thursday, October 13, 2016

Mojue M3 review



So this is a bit unexpected. Chufeng was released first, so I should have written a Chufeng review first, right?

Due to the infinite kindness of Speedcubeshop, I managed to get samples of the Mojue M3, the Chufeng, and the Weilong Square-1 early. Out of the two, I like the M3 a bit more than the Chufeng, and you know what? It's not even shipping to most yet. So I'll enjoy this by making an early review. :D

I think this is a very slightly pre-production cube, possibly one of the ones Speedcubeshop was sent to review. Because of that, some things may not stay entirely consistent with the production version. I'm planning on getting a production version as well, so if anything major does change I'll update the review.


Background Info

As you've probably heard, Mojue is the new Moyu subbrand formed when the Cyclone Boys designer joined Moyu. Cyclone Boys hasn't really been known for making high-performance speedcubes in the past. While their cubes weren't bad, they could never quite keep up with modern trends.

This cube hopes to overcome that legacy, and judging by the way it's priced, it's solidly a flagship. No question about it. Unfortunately for it, it enters a market dominated by a trio of extraordinary cubes: the Valk, the Weilong GTS, and the Gans Air. They're not going to be easy to beat.


Look and feel


Let's talk about the stickers real quick. On first glance, they look like GTS stickers - and that's because they are. I compared the templates and this one in fact uses straight GTS stickers. This is further suggested by the telltale white lines around the red and orange.

However, I have reason to believe that these will not be the stickers shipped with the final production cube. Moyu generally shapes their stickers very well to each cube, but in this case, the stickers don't really fit. The corners are sharper and more square than the GTS, but the sticker is still just as round, and the edge is flatter but the sticker is still more rounded. Another thing is, it's not uncommon for production processes such as this to finalize the sticker design last, since that's one of the most variable factors between designs and other stickers could easily be substituted in short term.

In other ways, of course, it looks just like modern speedcubes. 56mm, rounded centers, squared corners, and "bread" edges (a fun term a friend came up with). It makes a high pitched clacky sound, less hollow than the GTS.

Somehow, stickered up it weighs just 74 grams - less than even a stickered Gans Air. I didn't even notice until I weighed it, and I'll get into why soon.


Setup

As usual, I evened out the tensions (which were already quite even when I got it). I loosened each screw a quarter turn, then disassembled, lubed the core with weight 5, and lubed the pieces with weight 2. I have done about 400 solves on it since.

It's important to note that Cameron over at Speedcubeshop may have already set up the cube before me. After all, the cube was sent used and without a box. Either way, I did set it up again to suit my turning style.


Turning

The Mojue M3 actually turns very much like a GTS. It's similarly clacky, slightly flexy, and fast, and has a bit of the same crunchy feedback from corner cutting (not as much, though). The thing to note, and what really confused me, is that whether you turn it or hold it in your hands, it definitely feels slightly denser and more solid than the GTS - there's almost as much momentum in every turn as a Meiying.

Yet, it weighs 74 grams. How come?

I like the turning feel. It's a welcome change from the Valk's silky smoothness, and it's nice juggling between the two.


Corner cutting

Max corner cutting: ~51 degrees
Effective corner cutting: ~42 degrees
Max reverse cutting: ~37 degrees
Effective reverse cutting: ~30 degrees

Note here that the cube actually is capable of full cutting, but to get it to do so I had to loosen the tensions beyond what I'd consider reasonable. Unfortunately, it fell behind a bit on more reasonable tensions, both in missing out on full cutting by 2 degrees and by having rather poor effective cutting.


Anti-pop and anti-corner twist

Excellent and excellent.

that was easy


Internals

Nothing too special here. Again, we see that signature Moyu blue core.

Let's just take a look at the center real quick...

Yup, there it is. As already mentioned in the Fangyuan review, this center also has its corner near the base jutting out.

Still not sure what this is for. Stability, maybe?


The edge. Very simple design, a bit of a wide, flat groove on the side.

Hooray for simple designs. Cuts down on my writing.


The corner. It has a shoulder and a long center stalk rather than tapering down and flaring out like the Valk or the Yuexiao, but it does this with very simple geometry. No crazy curves or bumps like the Thunderclap.

Rather than rounding the corner base, Mojue has elected to make it...
...very sharp.

Does this hurt corner cutting performance, as some have speculated? Not as far as I can tell.

Overall, nothing too crazy in terms of internals.

Magnetizing potential and magnet placement

I've started including this section now, just to satisfy the needs of the magnetizers. This cube shouldn't be bad to magnetize at all. You'll need to split apart each edge and corner, and offset the magnets within them, but placement looks pretty easy.

Here is a possibility.
As to how the cube would respond to magnets, honestly, I have no idea. It seems the cubes that are the most responsive are the lightest and airiest cubes, like the Gans Air. This cube is even lighter than the Air, but it certainly doesn't feel light.

Guess someone will have to try it to know.

Conclusions

Objective score: 9/10
Normally I would have taken off more for how poor the effective cutting was. However, I did find that on looser tensions they improved a lot, as did max cutting up to full cutting. I'm only taking off one point total here for corner cutting.

A very good score, actually. Very close to the Valk.

Subjective score: 9/10
I like the feel a lot - more than the GTS because of the solid and dense feeling. The weight suits me, as does the speed. The problem I have with it is that the poor effective cutting does lead to some lockups sometimes, but it doesn't happen often.

I'm not quite sure if this can become a competitor to the Valk as my main, but it can certainly come very close.

So how did the former Cyclone Boys designer do? In my opinion he shows a lot of promise as a designer, and could come out with some very good cubes in the future. As of today, his one offering is already very good, just a tiny bit lacking on the performance side of things.

I'll be very interested to see what comes out of Mojue in the future.

You should buy this cube if:
  • You liked the Weilong GTS
  • You like light feeling cubes
  • You like dense feeling cubes (yes, contradictory, I know)
  • You like clacky, crunchy cubes
You should not buy this cube if:
  • You did not like anything described above
  • Corner cutting is important to you
HUGE thanks to Speedcubeshop for letting this review happen. Cam allowed me to procure the M3 early, letting me get this review out to you guys faster.

If you want to buy this cube, Speedcubeshop sells it for $17.95. If you feel that my review helped you come to your decision or helped in some other way, please consider using my affiliate link. It helps me out a lot and lets me get these reviews out to you guys faster and more easily.

Thanks for reading! This one was a lot of fun to write, and I hope you guys enjoyed reading it just as much!

Monday, October 10, 2016

Speedcubeshop affiliate link

What? karlzhao314 is selling out?

Well, I guess some would say it that way.

I really enjoy playing with puzzles, especially new releases, and I enjoy writing reviews about them. It's great knowing that my reviews have helped people choose their perfect cube, and that other content like my magnetic GTS tutorial has helped people create their own magnetic cubes, whether it's a GTS or some other cube.

Unfortunately, when you buy a lot of cubes like I do the costs add up quick. The solution is to not buy so many cubes, but that means less reviews. So I've created a Speedcubeshop affiliate link in hopes that it could help offset those costs and more easily get me new puzzles to review for you guys.

Speedcubeshop is a truly lovely site run by a very active member of the community and one of the coolest people I've ever known. Their prices are great, especially with a few of the 10% discount codes that are perpetually active. What really makes their site special, however, is the extraordinarily high standard of customer service - nearly every order is always packed and shipped in the same day, and any customer support questions are responded to in unbelievable speed - I've had emails that were responded to in literally 30 seconds.

So if you haven't used Speedcubeshop before, try it out! You will almost certainly find it an amazingly fast and enjoyable experience. And if you enjoy reading my reviews, please consider using my affiliate link - it doesn't cost anything to you and really does help me write more reviews.

karlzhao314's Speedcubeshop affiliate link

I'll let all of you pick what puzzle to review, no holds barred, if the link turns out to be effective.

Thanks for reading and thank you very much if you do use my link!